Award Recipients

Watch the 2020 Awards Video

President's Award

Leslie Graham, RN, MN, PhD, CNCC, CHSE, CCSNE
Ontario Tech University

For her work and dedication to the INACSL Simulation Education Program (ISEP).


Leslie Graham

Hayden Vanguard Lectureship

Global Network for Simulation in Healthcare (GNSH) 2020

For their contribution to the discipline and forward movement of simulation in a meaningful way through research and program innovation.





Spirit of Leadership

Beth Latimer, DNP, GNP-BC, CHSE
NYU Meyers College of Nursing

For her impact in her work to advance INACLS's mission, vision, and values. Latimer inspires, creates and leads a vision for local, regional, national and international environments through her publications and presentations.


Beth Latimer

ISEP Oversight Committee

Leslie Graham, RN, MN, CNCC, CHSE
Teresa Gore, PhD, DNP, FNP-BC, NP-C, CHSE-A, FAAN
Bette Mariani, PhD, RN, ANEF
Jane Tyerman, RN, MScN, PhD, CCSNE

For their leadership, expertise, and impact through their work overseeing the development of the INACSL Simulation Education Program (ISEP).


Oversight Committee


Frontline Champion

Patricia Prieto, MBA, BSN, RN, CHSE
Villanova University Fitzpatrick College of Nursing

For her demonstration to commitment, innovation, creativity and high standards and exceptional contributions to the simulation. She remains positive, resilient, enthusiastic, and committed to excellence.


Patricia Prieto


Excellence in Academia

Margaret Verkuyl, NP:PHC MN
Centennial College

For the outstanding evidence of publication, dissemination, teaching, and innovative contributions to simulation education. Margaret Verkuyl has extensive experience with the development of simulation and the dissemination of all that she has learned and developed, and there is overwhelming evidence of the achievement of positive outcomes through the use of simulation within and academic setting.

Margaret has sustained a record of teaching excellence as a recognized name in Virtual Gaming Simulation (VGS) scholarship. She has over 20 publications related to the science of VGS, has led seven games and accrued over $200,000 in funding for this work. Most notably, her leadership has contributed to institutional branding for her organization, as Centennial College is renowned for innovation related to VGS in Nursing Education.

Margaret Verkuyl


Excellence in Research

Dr. Jean-Christophe Servotte, PhD, MSc, CCRN, RN
Center for Medical Simulation of the University of Liège, Belgium

For his contribution to the knowledge of the effectiveness of virtual reality simulation through his research as evidenced by his creation of a virtual reality immersive experience and the testing of this experience on healthcare students. Additionally, Jean-Christophe Severotte’s expertise is sought by policy makers during the pandemic.

Jean-Christophe Servotte is specialized in intensive care and urgent medical aid, teacher and trainer in simulation. He is a scientific coordinator at the Center for Medical Simulation at the University of Liège. His research focuses on debriefing critical clinical situations and the simulation immersion process. He completed his training as a researcher and trainer in simulation with a Fellowship at the Center for Medical Simulation in Boston (Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital).

Jean-Christophe Servotte


Excellence in Service

Raleigh Hotels and Conference Center

The hotels and conference centers agreed to make financial sacrifices to honor the safety and well-being of INACSL members. They allowed INACSL to postpone the on-site conference in Raleigh to 2024 with minimal financial repercussions due to the overwhelming issue of COVID 19.



Debra Spunt Grant Awardees

  • Denise Campbell DNP, APRN, ACNS-BC, CEN. CHSE
    University of Michigan - Flint
    Medication Administration: Obtaining mastery using virtual simulation
  • Laura Skoronski Chavez, PhD, RN
    Wilkes University
    From NCLEX to Patient Care: Vital Assessment Linksp
  • Ginger Schroers, MS, RNC-MNN, CNE
    Loyola University
    Realistic Interruptions during Simulated Medication Administration: An Examination of Errors and Interruption Management Strategies


Clinical Simulation in Nursing 2019 Research Article of the Year

Nancy Sullivan, Sandra M. Swoboda, Tonya Breymier, Laura Lucas, Janice Sarasnick, Tonya Rutherford-Hemming, Chakra Budhathoki, Suzan (Suzie) Kardong-Edgren
“Emerging Evidence Toward a 2:1 Clinical to Simulation Ratio: A Study Comparing the Traditional Clinical and Simulation Settings” 


Clinical Simulation in Nursing 2019 Non-Research Article of the Year

Jane Tyerman, Marian Luctkar-Flude, Leslie Graham, Sue Coffey, Ellen Olsen-Lynch
“A Systematic Review of Health Care Presimulation Preparation and Briefing Effectiveness”


Anthony Battaglia Conference Scholarship Recipients

  • Wendy Buchanan
  • Brooke Metiva
  • Sandra Peterson
  • Jenny Heins
  • Maria D'Errico
  • Stacia Donaldson
  • Kay Gregorio
  • Jenny McCormick
  • Angela Turner


Poster Winners

People's Choice Award

Tiffany Zyniewicz PhD, MSN, BSN, RN, Tonya Breymier, PhD, RN, CNE, COI & Nancy Sullivan, DNP, RN  
Simulation to clinical replacement ratios: an evaluation of the research

Outstanding Non-Research Posters

  • Alex Arno, BSN, RN; Christopher O. Fry, BSN, RN; Christopher Rogge, BSN, RN; Dhruthi Patel, BSN, RN & Virginia "Chris" Muckler, DNP, CRNA, CHSE-A
    High-fidelity simulation for reentry to practice: Increasing safety and ease for CRNAs undergoing high stakes assessment
  • Brenda Helmer, DNP, APRN-CNS, PHCNS-BC & Beth Hall, PhD, RN
    Health Assessment Simulation without the simulation lab
  • Margory Molloy, DNP, RN, CNE, CHSE; Margaret Bowers, DNP, RN, FNP-BC, CHSE, A.A.C.C., FAANP, FAAN; Remi Hueckel, DNP, CPNP-AC, CHSE, FAANP & Amy Pastva, PhD, PT, CHSE  "Where's the closest AED?":
    An interprofessional simulation to improve the "drop to shock" interval on campus    
  • Katherine Schafer, MSN, APRN, PCNS-BC, CNL, CCRN, CHSE & Lynette Richter, DNP, RN, CNL, CCRN-K, CHSE
    Implementation of a simulation-based pediatric clinical series for pre-licensure graduate nursing students
  • Peggy Ann Urusuy, PhD, RN, PPCNP-BC; Melissa A. Bathish, PhD, RN, CPNP-PC & Deborah Price, DNP, RN
    Leveling up: A multi-environment, multi patient, simulation quality improvement project

Outstanding Research Posters

  • Deniz Dishman PhD, DNAP, MSN, CRNA, CHSE
    Adaptation and validation of the Situation Awareness Global Assessment Technique (SAGAT) for Student Registered Nurse Anesthetists (SRNAs)
  • Cynthia Foronda, PhD, RN, CNE, CHSE, ANEF; Susana Barroso Fernandez, PhD, RN; Vicky J.-H. Yeh, PhD, RN; Karina Gattamorta, PhD & Eric B. Bauman, PhD FSSH RN
    A rubric to measure nurse-to-physician ISBAR communication
  • Tiffany Zyniewicz PhD, MSN, BSN, RN, Tonya Breymier, PhD, RN, CNE, COI & Nancy Sullivan, DNP, RN
    Simulation to clinical replacement ratios: an evaluation of the research

        Past Award Recipients