About Title Header


Standing Committees and sub-committees are established as necessary to carry on the work of INACSL. Members of standing committees commit to a two (2) year term of service. Terms usually start in June, at the conclusion of the annual conference, and end the following June. Committee members are asked to limit their service on a specific committee to no more than four (4) years. All of INACSL's Standing Committees function virtually, allowing members to participate wherever they are located. Committee meetings occur regularly, typically monthly or quarterly, depending on the specific committee and their needs.

Get Involved


Conference Planning Committee
Chair: Tonya Schneidereith
The Conference Planning Committee (CPC) is responsible for activities related to the annual conference, with special consideration for providing an engaging educational networking opportunity and balancing the needs of the novice to expert member from a variety of settings (education, industry, operations, and research). 

Engagement Subcommittee
Chair: Jennifer Alderman
The Outreach Committee promotes engagement of current and potential members through multi-media platforms and collaborates with the Membership Committee to meet the needs of new and current members.

Financial Oversight Committee
Chair: Theresa (Terri) Pietsch
The Financial Oversight Committee is responsible for supporting financial oversight of the organization, monitoring audit/review cycles, and seeking revenue generating opportunities.

Governance Committee
Chair: Meghan Jones
The Governance Committee is responsible for the work of Bylaws, policies and procedures. They provide oversight and advisement to the INACSL Board of Directors regarding best practices in organizational governance. They review the Bylaws and facilitate updates as needed and assist with the creation and periodic review of organizational policies and procedures as needed.

HomeGrown Solutions
Chair: Lea Stevens
This committee manages HomeGrown Simulation Solutions, a collaboration with the National League for Nursing that provides the opportunity for simulationists to share innovative simulation ideas with step-by-step instructions for replication. The committee reviews and approves submissions on a quarterly basis.

IncluDe Committee
Chair: Benjamin Smallheer
The IncluDE Committee fosters diversity, inclusivity, acceptance, and equity within INACSL and the healthcare simulation community to impact the profession and society. They work to cultivate understanding, appreciation, and recognition that diversity and individual differences are a source of strength. 

International Affairs Committee
Chair: Tagwa Omer
The International Affairs Committee sustains a community of practice for international members regarding projects and international outreach. They facilitate collaboration between international members and other members who are native speakers of English, as well as promote publication of international research projects. 

Membership Committee
Chair: April Belle
The Membership Committee is responsible for the work of increasing membership, providing engagement of membership, and retaining current members. They are responsible for executing the process for annual membership awards, including, but not limited to, the Excellence Awards and the Anthony Battaglia Conference Scholarship. They solicit member feedback through periodic membership surveys to identify current membership trends and propose member engagement initiatives and benefits to better serve the membership. They also review Special Interest Group (SIG) applications and present them to the INACSL Board of Directors for approval.

Nominations and Elections Committee
Chair: Nicole Petsas Blodgett
Per INACSL Bylaws, the Nominations and Elections Committee is responsible for annually soliciting names of members who are interested in running for any office through a virtual nomination process established by the Board of Directors. They preparing a slate of candidates for each elective office, present them to the Board of Directors for approval, and coordinate the virtual election.

Nurse Planners Committee
Chair: Mary Ann Cantrell
The Nurse Planners manage the planning, implementation, and evaluation of accredited educational activities offered by INACSL to ensure compliance with accreditation regulations.

Regulatory Initiatives Committee
Chair: Kim Curry-Lourenco
The Regulatory Initiatives Committee maintains the website's Regulation Simulation Map regarding the status of regulations that affect the advancement of simulation education and practice. 

Research Committee
Chair: Janine Hinton
The Research Committee is responsible for supporting advancement of the scholarship of simulation, generating ideas for research and research funding, providing members with opportunities to receive research training and mentorship, and managing INACSL’s research related programs and awards. The Committee monitors the healthcare simulation research environment and provides recommendations to the Board of Directors for INACSL’s Research Priorities.

Social Media Committee
Chair: Aimee Woda
The Social Media Committee advances the virtual presence of INACSL through the use of social media, engaging in meaningful, timely, and relevant interactions with INACSL membership. 

Standards Committee
Chair: Penni Isla Watts
The Standards Committee is responsible for the development, quality assurance, and revision of the Healthcare Simulation Standards of Best Practice™ as new evidence and best practices emerge from research.

Webinar Committee
Chair: Beth Culross
The Webinar Committee is responsible for determining the annual webinar series topics and speaker selection, recommending subject matter experts, and brainstorming innovative ways to meet the needs of the simulation community through educational products and services. 

Website Committee
Chair: Debbie Tracey
The Website Committee supports and maintains the INACSL online brand and reputation. They provide oversight for website content and maintenance. They set strategic direction to promote INACSL's website presence among current and future members, stakeholders, and partners within the healthcare simulation community.